29 Nov 2014

Soffe Cup Round 5 review 29 Nov

AWE Huatoki have swept to the lead in Soffe Cup with a strong 12-4 win over Central Finance Rotokare.  Kyle Crowley started Rotokare off well with a 6-2 6-4 win over Alistair Nairn and that was the sole singles victory.  Murray Keast (Huatoki) was the most accomplished of the two seasonal debutantes dispatching Buzz Campbell 6-3 7-5.  Chris Avery had a shortened day when Cole Hareb retired with Avery leading 4-0. Quinn Rosa had a tougher time against Laurie Jordan, winning 7-6 7-5.  The Huatoki women were equally dominant with Sophie Robertson defeating Jane Symons 6-0 6-3 in the No.1 matchup and Tracey Old cementing a victory over Julie Foley in the No.2 match 7-6 6-3.  Ellen O'Byrne and Georgia Bartosh had easy wins over Helena Goodin and Emma Salmon respectively.

Surprisingly, three of the doubles matches were dramatic 3rd set tiebreak affairs.  Avery/Rosa came back from a set down to win over Campbell/Jordan 4-6 6-4 10-8.  Robertson/Old let Symons/Foley back into the match after winning the first set and ended up paying the ultimate price being defeated 2-6 7-6 11-9.  O'Byrne/Bartosh were lucky to get another win on the board for Huatoki defeating Goodin/Salmon 5-7 6-2 10-7.  Rotokare were able to pick up two of the combines (both 9-8) to make the overall score more respectable but remain near the bottom of the table.

Hareb Deken Oakura nearly caused an upset when they travelled to RE/MAX Pukekura Park; eventually having to settle for an 8-all draw.  Oakura led 5-3 after the singles, 8-4 after the doubles but then couldn't even pick up a solitary win in the combines to seal victory overall.

Len Adamson (Oakura) led his team off with a win over Matt Bayley 4-6 7-6 6-3 and team-mate Caleb Fleming soon made it two for the men with a 6-1 6-3 win over David Barnard.  Pukekura struck back with two easy victories at No.3 and No.4.  The Oakura women were not to be subdued and they out-performed the men, picking up three of the four singles.  Danni Fletcher forced a retirement from Kirsten Adam 3-6 5-3 ret, Bailey Bruckner won in three sets over the experienced Linda Reid 7-5 3-6 6-3 and Ana Spurdle defeated Rebecca Wormald 6-4 6-1.  The reliable Donna Thorne gave Pukekura a boost winning her match at No.3 over Chris Davies 6-3 6-4.  The men's doubles were shared and Oakura won both the women's doubles with a marathon result Davies/Spurdle out-lasting Thorne/Wormald 5-7 6-1 13-11.  Inexplicably, Pukekura then found form taking out all of the combines to scrounge an 8-all draw. Pukekura move to 2nd and Oakura to 4th on the ladder.

The Stratford v Inglewood match has been postponed to Dec 20th.

Huatoki 12 Rotokare 4

Alister Nairn lost to Kyle Crowley 6-2 6-4

Murray Keast b Buzz Campbell 6-3 7-5

Chris Avery b Cole Hareb 4-0 ret

Quinn Rosa b Laurie Jordan 7-6 7-5

Sophie Robertson b Jane Symons 6-0 6-3

Tracey Old b Julie Foley 7-6 6-3

Ellen O'Byrne b Helena Goodin 6-0 6-1

Georgia Bartosh b Emma Salmon 6-3 6-0

Nairn/Keast b Crowley/Hareb def

Avery/Rosa b Campbell/Jordan 4-6 6-4 10-8

Robertson/Old lost to Symons/Foley 2-6 7-6 11-9

O'Byrne/Bartosh b Goodin/Salmon 5-7 6-2 10-7

Nairn/Robertson lost to Crowley/Symons 9-8

Keast/O'Byrne b Campbell/Goodin 9-7

Avery/Old b Hareb/Salmon def

Rosa/Bartosh lost to Jordan/Foley 9-8


Pukekura Park 8 Oakura 8

Matt bayley lost to Len Adamson 4-6 7-6 6-3

David Barnard lost to Caleb Fleming 6-1 6-3

Shaun Alborough b Simon Spurdle 6-0 6-1

Thomson Matuku b Scott Johnson 6-1 6-0

Kirsten Adam lost to Danni Fletcher 3-6 5-3 ret

Linda Reid lost to Bailey Bruckner 7-5 3-6 6-3

Donna Thorne b Chris Davies 6-3 6-4

Rebecca Wormald lost to Ana Spurdle 6-4 6-1

Bayley/Barnard lost to Adamson/Fleming 6-1 6-2

Alborough/Matuku b Spurdle/Johnson 6-1 6-1

Adam/Reid lost to Fletcher/Bruckner 7-5 6-3

Thorne/Wormald lost to Davies/Spurdle 5-7 6-1 13-11

Bayley/Reid b Adamson/Fletcher 9-4

Barnard/Adam b Fleming/Bruckner 9-8

Alborough/Wormald b Spurdle/Spurdle 9-4

Matuku/Thorne b Johnson/Davies 9-4

Soffe Cup Points

AWE Huatoki 47.5, RE/MAX Pukekura Park 45, Farmlands Okaiawa/Manaia 39.5, Hareb Deken Oakura 37.5, Inglewood Club Inglewood 32, Central Finance Rotokare 28, Thomson O’Neill 22.5

Wilson Trophy Results

Oakura/Rotokare 8 Manaia 8; Okaiawa/Hawera 9 Pukekura Park 7

Wilson Trophy Points

Matapu 50.5, Okaiawa/Hawera 48.5, Huatoki 39, Oakura/Rotokare 35.5, Pukekura Park 31.5, Manaia 27, Stratford/Inglewood 20.

Sumpter Trophy Results

Huatoki 10 Oakura/Rotokare 6, Hawera 9 Pukekura Park 7.

Sumpter Trophy Points

Pukekura Park 50, Oakura/Rotokare 49.5, Huatoki 44, Hawera 36.5