2 December 2007

The Taranaki representative tennis team to defend the Christie Cup against Wanganui ( in Wanganui) on Sunday has been named by selector Bruce Cleland.
Jonno Ussher (Huatoki), Ben Pollard ( Rotokare), Michael Fleming (Pukekura), Chris Popata (Rotokare), Josh Walden (Oakura), Zac Wills (Pukekura)
Nicole Koch (Manaia), Alesha Ford ( Manaia), Leah Fletcher ( Oakura), Linda Reid ( Pukekura) Donna Thorne (Pukekura ) Becky Bruckner (Oakura)
Making their debuts are Pollard, Fletcher, Thorne and Bruckner although Thorne has played for the B team for several seasons.
Missing from last year's squad are Leith Atkins, Catherine Stevenson, Kathryn O'Sullivan, Lucy Barlow , Saori Han, Aaron Hine and Mark Atkins.
Barlow, Han and Hine are not available for this match, O'Sullivan has moved to Hawkes Bay, Leith Atkins is not playing rep while Mark Atkins is not playing and Stevenson has not returned from Otago University.
It is the first defence of the season as the Hawkes Bay match which was supposed to be played a fortnight ago was postponed.
It will be a tough encounter as many of the Wanganui team play interclub in Wellington. There is no interclub in Wanganui as there is only one tennis club. Last season Taranaki won 17-7.  It is also the first time for several seasons that the match has not been played in Taranaki.  Wanganui has requested that it be played there.