28 Feb 2015

AWE Huatoki sealed the Soffe Cup minor premiership with a solid 10-6 win over second-placed RE/MAX Pukekura.  As expected, Ajeet Rai was far too good for Shaun Alborough 6-2 6-0 and Chris Popata was also superior over Meto Snegirev 6-3 6-0.  Jayden Harrison caused a minor upset when he downed Pukekura's David Barnard 4-6 6-1 6-4.  Thomson Matuku pulled one back for Pukekura when he was a 6-2 6-3 victor over Chris Avery.  The ladies matches were hard-fought, close matches across the entire day.  Hikaru Han got the win for Huatoki when she held off Kirsten Adam 7-5 6-4.  The No.2 and No.3 matches went the way of Pukekura via Linda Reid defeating Sophie Robertson 4-6 6-4 6-1 and  Bam Klibmanee disposing of  Tracey Old 6-0 6-1.  Ellen O'Byrne picked up a big scalp for Huatoki at No.4 when she forced the retirement of Marcella Jones when the match was one set each.  The men's doubles were decisively shared and the ladies doubles were also shared but both were decided via super-tiebreaks; Han/Robertson beating Adam/Reid 4-6 6-4 7-6 and Klibmanee/Jones beating Old/O'Byrne 6-1 6-7 7-6.  Huatoki sealed the victory by easily winning three of the combines matches.

Farmlands Okaiawa/Manaia sealed the third spot with a decisive 13-3 victory over Central Finance Rotokare at Okaiawa.  Okaiawa/Manaia won all of the singles matches including two defaults in the ladies when Rotokare could only field two women. Mark Laurence returned to some form with a 6-2 6-4 win over Kyle Crowley.  Vince Baylis complimented that with a 6-3 7-5 win over Shane Devlin, as did Josh Murdoch 6-0 6-2 over Laurie Jordan and Rhys Butler  6-4 6-3 over Ben Fitzgibbon.  The ladies matches were closer with Lauren Fraine a 6-2 7-6(1) winner over Julie Foley and Capree Wineera just lasting with a 3-6 6-2 7-5 win over Helena Goodin.  Rotokare picked up three late wins after the combined side had already sealed the tie but this didn't prevent them from picking up the wooden spoon for the  2014-15 season.

Inglewood Club Inglewood had a predictable match against Hareb Deken Oakura with the Inglewood men winning all their matches and the Oakura ladies winning all theirs.  Locked at six all, Inglewood were able to utilise their male dominance to win three of the combines and snatch a 9-7 victory.  Thomas Brown for Inglewood and Danni Fletcher for Oakura were the stars for their teams but Brown got the advantage over Fletcher in the No.1 combines, winning  9-4.  Inglewood finished fourth after their first season in Soffe Cup for many years and Oakura finished a distant fifth.

Huatoki now face Inglewood in one Soffe Cup semi-final and Pukekura host Okaiawa/Manaia.

Wilson Trophy semi-finals: Stratford v Pukekura, Huatoki v Okaiawa/Hawera.
Sumpter Trophy semi-finals: Pukekura v Oakura/Rotokare, Manaia v Huatoki.

Huatoki 10 Pukekura 6
Ajeet Rai b Shaun Alborough 6-2 6-0
Chris Popata b Meto Snegirev 6-3 6-0
Jayden Harrison b David Barnard 4-6 6-1 6-4
Chris Avery lost to Thomson Matuku 6-2 6-3
Hikaru Han b Kirsten Adam 7-5 6-4
Sophie Robertson lost to Linda Reid 4-6 6-4 6-1
Tracey Old lost to Bam Klibmanee  6-0 6-1
Ellen O'Byrne b Marcella Jones 4-6 6-4 ret
Rai/Popata b Alborough/Snegirev 6-3 6-3
Harrison/Avery lost to Barnard/Matuku 6-2 6-1
Han/Robertson b Adam/Reid 4-6 6-4 7-6
Old/O'Byrne lost to Klibmanee/Jones 6-1 6-7 7-6
Rai/Han b Alborough/Adam 9-2
Popata/Robertson b Snegirev/Reid 9-4
Harrison/Old b Barnard/Klibmanee 9-5
Avery/O'Byrne lost to Matuku/Jones 9-2
Okaiawa/Manaia 13 Rotokare 3
Mark Laurence b Kyle Crowley 6-2 6-4
Vince Baylis b Shane Devlin 6-3 7-5
Josh Murdoch b Laurie Jordan 6-0 6-2
Rhys Butler b Ben Fitzgibbon 6-4 6-3
Lauren Fraine b Julie Foley 6-2 7-6(1)
Capree Wineera b Helena Goodin 3-6 6-2 7-5
Jaimee Baylis won by default
Anna Johnson won by default
Laurence/Baylis lost to Crowley/Devlin 6-3 6-0
Murdoch/Butler b Jordan/Fitzgibbon 6-2 6-3
Fraine/Wineera lost to Foley/Goodin 6-3 6-1
Baylis/Johnson won by default
Laurence/Fraine lost to Crowley/Foley 9-8(5)
Baylis/Wineera b Devlin/Goodin 9-3
Murdoch/Baylis won by default
Butler/Johnson won by default
Inglewood 9 Oakura 7
Thomas Brown b Len Adamson 6-1 6-2
Mal Masters b Simon Spurdle 6-1 6-2
Luke Brown b Scott Johnson 6-1 6-1
Derek Spurdle b Chris Edler 6-1 6-3
Krystral Oakes lost to Danni Fletcher 6-1 6-2
Maria Spurdle lost to Sue Oldfield 6-4 6-1
Michaela Spurdle lost to Bailey Bruckner 6-2 6-1
Shona Salisbury lost to Chris Davies 7-6 6-3
Brown/Brown b Adamson/Spurdle 6-1 6-2
Masters/Spurdle b Johnson/Edler 6-0 6-0
Oakes/Ma.Spurdle lost to Fletcher/Bruckner 7-6 4-6 7-6
Mi.Spurdle/Salisbury lost to Oldfield/Davies 6-3 6-2
T.Brown/Oakes b Adamson/Fletcher 9-4
Masters/Ma.Spurdle b Spurdle/Oldfield 9-5
L.Brown/Salisbury lost to Johnson/Bailey 9-2
Spurdle/Mi.Spurdle b Edler/Davies 9-1

Soffe Cup points
Huatoki 147.5, Pukekura 130, Okaiawa/Manaia 102.5, Inglewood 95, Oakura 76.5, Rotokare 74.
Wilson Trophy results
Stratford 12 Matapu 4; Okaiawa/Hawera 9 Pukekura 7; Huatoki 12 Stratford/Inglewood 4.
Wilson Trophy points
Stratford 70.5, Huatoki 55, Okaiawa/Hawera 46, Pukekura 46, Matapu 39, Stratford/Inglewood 12.
Sumpter Trophy results
Oakura/Rotokare 8 Manaia 8; Huatoki 12 Hawera 4.
Sumpter Trophy points
Pukekura 53, Manaia 43, Huatoki 36, Oakura/Rotokare 27, Hawera 21.