27 October 2007

There were no upsets in Soffe Cup tennis on Saturday but McDonald Real Estate Matapu, in their first season of Soffe Cup, pushed defending champ AWE Huatoki all the way at Matapu.  Each side won four singles; Huatoki won three men's matches with No 1 Jonathan Ussher defeating Tom Luxton 6/2 6/4, No 3 Jordan Stayt winning 6/3 6/2 against Jason Hurley and Amrit Rai only dropping one game against Brent Perrett.  Matapu's No 2, David White defeated Rakesh Rai 6/0 6/2.
Matapu won three women's singles, with No 2, Helen Kelly defeating Janice Taylor 6/2 2/6 7/6; No 3 Carolyn Koch beat Chris Wilson 6/4, 6/4 and No 4 Michelle Furness beat Megan Walsh 6/4 7/6.  Huatoki's No 1, Saori Han won her match against Jen White 6/2 6/3.
In the doubles Huatoki won three out of four to go into the mixed doubles 7-5 ahead. The New Plymouth side finished the job off by winning three out of four to take out the tie 10 - 6.
Central Finance Rotokare won 12-4 against Waiwaka/Stratford/Midhirst at Rotokare. Although the scores were 5-3 after the singles Rotokare only dropped one more match, the No 2 women's doubles.
In the singles, Rotokare's top three, Chris Popata, Mike Roberts and Shane Devlin had easy wins against David Innes, David Chamberlain and Grant Kite.
The combined side's No 4 , 15 year old Thomas Brown, (who previously played Wilson Trophy for Inglewood) made his Soffe Cup debut a memorable one by defeating another debutant, 16 year old Jaden Hareb, 6/3 3/6 7/6. Both players were in the Taranaki junior rep team last season.
Rotokare won two women's singles, No 1 Leith Atkins and No 4 Maureen Whiting won their matches while Waiwaka/Stratford/Midhirst's No 2 and 3, Alison and Yvonne Chamberlain defeated Michelle and Beccie Atkins.
Hooker Pacific Pukekura defeated Oakura 11-5 at Pukekura in a match featuring five tiebrakers.  In the women's singles Oakura' s No 1 Leah Fletcher defeated Linda Reid 4/6 6/4 7/6 making it two defeats of Taranaki senior reps in two weeks. She defeated Rotokare's Leith Atkins in the first round.  Pukekura's Donna Thorne, Kirsten Adam and Jeanette Harding won their matches.  Thorne and Harding had relatively easy wins while Adam was pushed to three sets by Miaana Walden.
In the men's singles, Pukekura won three out of four, with only Oakura's John Hardie Boys winning. He defeated Dennis Reid 6/3 6/4.
Oakura won both men's doubles with Hardie Boys and Josh Walden having a good three set win against Michael Fleming and Reid.  Horry Hubbard and Ted Normanton defeating Paul Simpson and Nick Steventon in three sets.  Hardie Boys made it three out of three by combining with Becky Bruckner to defeat Reid and Adam 9/2.
Pukekura won the rest of the mixed doubles and are equal top of the points table with Rotokare.
Sandfords Manaia had the bye.
Hooker Pacific Pukekura 27, Central Finance Rotokare 27, McDonald Real Estate Matapu 19, AWE Huatoki 12, Oakura 10, Waiwaka/Stratford/Midhirst 8, Sandfords Manaia 5.
Wilson Trophy
Hawera 13 Huatoki (1) 3, Oakura 12 Huatoki (2) 4, Okaiawa (2) 13 Matapu 3, Okaiawa (1) bye
Sumpter Trophy
Inglewood 11 Rotokare 5, Manaia (1) 11 Kaponga 5, Waitara 12 Waiwaka 4, Manaia (2) 10 Stratford 6