22 Feb 2004

Defending men's champion, Michael Gates (Manaia), regained the A grade title that he won in 2003.  Michael defeated David White (Matapu) in the final.  The men's doubles title was won by Tony Boshier and Dean Wadsworth (both Manaia).

Irene Cruikshank (Manaia/Kapuni) won the women's A grade title that narrowly eluded her last year, then combined with Davina Mills (Manaia) to take out the doubles title.

Vincent Baylis (Okaiawa) was another to regain his title when he captured the Under 16 boys title defeating Reece Furness (Matapu).  Vincent then teamed with Ryan Stockman (Okaiawa) to win the Under 16 boys doubles.  In an extremely close match, they defeated Mark Laurence (Okaiawa) and Reece Furness.

South Taranaki Residential Championships - 22 February 2004

Singles - Under 16 Boys

1st Round

Reece Furness b Blair Nicols 9-6


Reece Furness b Blair Crowley 9-7
Ryan Stockman b Aled Jones 9-4
Vincent Baylis b Joshua Abbott 9-3
Mark Laurence b Jordan Fleming 9-3


Reece Furness b Ryan Stockman 9-3
Vincent Baylis b Mark Laurence 9-2


Vincent Baylis b Reece Furness 9-4


Jordan Fleming b Joshua Abbott 9-6
Aled Jones b Jordan Fleming 9-2
Aled Jones b Blair Nicols 9-4

Plate winner - Aled Jones

Singles - Men's A Grade


Kyle Crowley b Murray Mead 6-3 4-6 7-6
Andrew Baylis b Tony Boshier 6-4 6-4
David White b Dean Wadsworth 6-3 6-3


Michael Gates b Kyle Crowley 6-1 6-2
David White b Andrew Baylis 6-3 6-2


Michael Gates b David White 6-2 6-2

Doubles - Under 16 Boys

V.Baylis/R.Stockman b J.Abbott/B.Nicols 9-3
V.Baylis/R.Stockman b J.Fleming/A.Jones 9-2
V.Baylis/R.Stockman b M.Laurence/R.Furness 9-8
M.Laurence/R.Furness b J.Abbott/B.Nicols 9-3
M.Laurence/R.Furness b J.Fleming/A.Jones 9-1
J.Fleming/A.Jones b J.Abbott/B.Nicols 9-2


Vincent Baylis/Ryan Stockman


Doubles - Men's A Grade

T.Boshier/D.Wadsworth b K.Crowley/B.Crowley 6-4 6-4
T.Boshier/D.Wadsworth b M.Mead/K.Stockman 3-6 6-1 7-6
T.Boshier/D.Wadsworth b M.Gates/M.Goodwin 6-3 6-4
M.Gates/M.Goodwin b M.Mead/K.Stockman 6-1 2-6 7-6
M.Gates/M.Goodwin b K.Crowley/B.Crowley default
M.Mead/K.Stockman b K.Crowley/B.Crowley 6-3 6-3


Tony Boshier/Dean Wadsworth

Singles - Women's A Grade

Round Robin

Irene Cruikshank b Shinae Bailey 6-0 6-1
Irene Cruikshank b Tracey Zimmerman 6-1 6-1
Tracey Zimmerman b Shinae Bailey 6-2 6-1

Doubles - Women's A Grade


I.Cruikshank/D.Mills b S.Bailey/T.Zimmerman 6-1 6-0