15 Oct 2010

Soffe Cup tennis gets underway tomorrow with the same six teams competing as last season.
Reigning champions, Sandfords Manaia will be hard to beat with their unchanged line -up headed by Cameron Koch, Jordan Fleming, Michael Gates, followed by teenagers Tommy Death and Jacob Gopperth. 
The women's line up is Taranaki No 1 Nicole Koch, sisters Sarah and Grace Kelly and Maree Gopperth.
Last seaon's runner up, AWE Huatoki will not be the force they were last season with the retirements of Neil Bridgeman and Janice Taylor.  No 1 Saori Han is out with injury.
Rep player Chris Popata has transferred from Rotokare which will strengthen their line-up.  He will be a the no. 1 until the return of Jomo Ussher from university.
At No 2 will be Amrit Rai.  David Geange will miss the first two weeks as he is overseas.  Top age group rep, 11 year old Ajeet Rai will come into the squad.
Alice Caskey will be at No 1 followed by Chris Wilson.  Robyn Hinton returns from injury and 14 year old Sophie Roberston will make her debut.
Hareb Deken Oakura has lost John Hardie Boys through injury but otherwise has the same squad.  Graeme Mitchell and Steve Novak will be the top pairing with Sue Oldfield and Becky Bruckner in the women's line up.  Josh and Miaana Walden will come into the team when they return from university.
Central Finance Rotokare has lost Chris Popata to Huatoki and No 1 Catherine Stevenson is missing.  Offsetting that is the introduction of hard - hitting Tania L'Ami.  She will be at No 2 with Karen Cranston at No 1.
No 1 Ben Pollard who missed all but the first game last season through injury, will spearhead a strong men's team followed by Blair Crowley and Malcolm Elder.
Icon Sports Tariki Pukekura Park have gained former player Tony Radich who has been at university.  The rest of the squad is the same with Mike Fleming, Callum Old, Denis Reid and Meto Snegirev filling the top spots. The women's team has been the same for many years.  It will once again be lead by Linda Reid, followed by Kirsten Adam, Donna Thorne and Jeanette Harding.
Stumble Inn Waiwaka are expected to field a similar line -up to last season, headed by the Lace brothers, Mike and Dave with teenagers Michael Lloyd and Simon Momich completing the mens' team.
The women's team is likely to include Krstyal Oakes, Michele Lace,Jaydn Bruce and Melissa Wong.
This week Sandfords Manaia should get off to a flying start, at home to Stumble Inn Waiwaka.  Central Finance Rotokare will battle it out with Hareb Deken Oakura at home.  AWE Huatoki are at home to Icon Sports Tariki Pukekura in a local derby.
Sandfords Manaia - Cameron Koch, Jordan Fleming, Michael Gates, Tommy Death, Jacob Gopperth, Nicole Koch, Sarah Kelly, Grace Kelly, Maree Gopperth
AWE Huatoki - Jono Ussher, Chris Popata, Amrit Rai, Dave Innes, David Geange, Ajeet Rai, Jeremy Wichman, Alice Caskey, Chris Wilson , Robyn Hinton, Sophie Robertson, Zoe Avison
Hareb Deken Oakura - Graham Mitchell. Steve Novak, Josh Walden, Tei Walden, Len Adamson, Sue Oldfield, Becky Bruckner, Miaana Walden, Chris Davies, Shae Martin
Central Finance Rotokare - Ben Pollard, Blair Crowley, Malcolm Elder, Kyle Crowley, Shane Devlin, Greg Hareb , Mike Roberts, Karen Cranston, Tania L'Ami, Beccie Atkins, Frances Gray, Beth O' Neill
Icon Sports Tariki Pukekura Park - Mike Fleming, Callum Old, Dennis Reid, Meto Snegirev, Paul Simpson, Linda Reid, Kirsten Adam, Donna Thorne, Jeanette Harding, Tania Fleming
Stumble Inn Waiwaka - Mike Lace. Dave Lace, Michael Lloyd, Simon Momich, Bob Momich, Steve Lloyd, Krystal Oakes, Michele Lace, Jaydn Bruce, Shuna Giles, Melissa Wong
Division 2 and 3 of A grade, the Wilson and Sumpter Trophy, start on 30 October.