15 November 2008

In Soffe Cup tennis on Saturday, Hareb Deken Oakura continued its unbeaten run beating Hooker Pacific Pukekura comprehensively 11-5 at Pukekura.  Pukekura were missing their top two players, Michael Fleming and Dennis Reid.  Oakura won the top three men's singles with No 1 Josh Walden beating Meto Snegirev 6/4 6/2, John Hardie Boys defeating Tony Radich in three sets and Aaron Hine beating Nick Steventon 6/3  6/2.  Pukekura No 4, Callum Old beat Tei Walden 6/3 6/2.  The women's singles were shared. Oakura were missing their top two women Alesha Ford and Leah Fletcher, but picked up the top match with Sue Oldfield beating Linda Reid and in the No 4 match, Deryn Northcott beat Jeanette Harding.  Pukekura's No 2 and 3 won their matches in two sets, Donna Thorne beat Becky Bruckner and Kirsten Adam beat Miaana Walden.
Oakura won all but two of the remaining matches, two of them in tie breakers.  Walden and Hardie Boys beat Snegirev and Radich in the third set tie breaker and in the top combines, Walden and Oldfield beat Snegirev and Reid 9/8.  Pukekura's Callum Old won all his matches.  He combined with Steventon to beat Hine & Tei Walden and with Harding beat Tei and Miaana Walden.  Oakura drop to second, one point behind Rotokare (from first equal) while Pukekura drop from third to fourth place on the points table.
Competition leaders, Central Finance Rotokare, also unbeaten, had an easy 12-4 win over AWE Huatoki at Huatoki.  Rotokare won six singles. No 1 Ben Pollard continued his good run, beating Jonno Ussher 6/2  6/4 and No 2 Chris Popata beat Amrit Rai 6/3 6/4.  They were gifted the No 3 match as well as two doubles matches when Huatoki's David Innes was a no show.  Rotokare's women won three singles, all in three sets. Catherine Stevenson beat Chris Wilson, No 3 Beccie Atkins had an excellent win over Megan Walsh and No 4 Helena Goodin beat Alice Caskey.  Huatoki's No 4 Quinn Rosa beat Shane Devlin in three sets while No 2 Megan O'Donnell won her match against Alison Chamberlain.  The men's and women's doubles were squared with Rotokare taking both men's matches and Huatoki's women winning theirs.  Rotokare won all the mixed doubles.
Sandfords Manaia moved into third place with an 11-5 win over McDonald Real Estate Matapu at Matapu.  They were ahead 6-2 after the singles with No 1, 2 and 4 having easy wins.  Cameron Koch beat Jason Hurley, Jordan Fleming beat Andy Roberts and Michael Gates beat Regan Corbett.  Matapu's Kyle Crowley beat Jacob Gopperth in the No 3 match.  In the women's singles, the top three were not tested in their games.  Nicole Koch, Irene Cruikshank and Marina Gopperth won their matches against Krystal Oakes, Helen Kelly and Carolyn Koch.  Matapu's No 4 Ann Bridges beat Maree Gopperth in the No 4 match.
Hawera moved into fifth place with a 12 -4 win over Lockwood Design and Build Okaiawa at Okaiawa.  They were off to a great start by winning seven singles.  Two of the singles were decided in three set tiebreakers;  No 3 Mark Laurence beat Sean Mehrtens and No 1 Erin Annabell beat Beth McLeod.  Hawera's No 1 Neil McCann beat Andrew Powell 6/2 6/3 while No No 2 Conrad Heron beat Vincent Baylis 6/3 6/2.
Okaiawa's Amelia Bowers-Weir won her match against Sandra Gates as well as her doubles match when she teamed up with McLeod and beat Annabell and Gates.
Wilson Trophy
Ecolab Manaia 8 Waiwaka 8, Stratford 10 Huatoki 6, Oakura 9 Okaiawa 7
Sumpter Trophy
Waitara 9 Huatoki 7, Coastal 9 Stratford 7, Inglewood 12 Manaia 4, Rotokare 12 Hawera 4
Soffe Cup
Central Finance Rotokare 59, Hareb Deken Oakura 58, Sandfords Manaia 46,  Hooker Pacific Pukekura 45.5, Hawera 27, AWE Huatoki 24, McDonald Real Estate Matapu 21, Okaiawa 7.5
Wilson Trophy
Waiwaka 35, Manaia 34, Stratford 30, Oakura 27, Huatoki 15, Okaiawa 12, Matapu 9
Sumpter Trophy
Waitara 39, Rotokare 30.5, Hawera 28.5, Inglewood 26.5, Stratford 25, Huatoki 23, Manaia 22, Coastal (45) 21