16 April 2018

New Plymouth Tennis Open a Great Success

Over the last four days, from Saturday through to Tuesday, the New Plymouth Tennis Open has been taking place at Rotokare, Huatoki and Pukekura Park Tennis Clubs.  Titles were competed for in 10s, 12s, 14s, 16s and 18s boys and girls age group events. As well as in B grade and A grade men’s and women’s competitions.  There was even a social mixed doubles competition.

A small Men’s open field still yielded a high quality final. Jaden Grinter and Michael McGlinchey, both from Wellington, battled hard to claim the title.  The surface was very slick to begin with and both players found it impossible to break serve. Finally, in the eighth game, with the ball fluffing up a little more, Grinter overcame the McGlinchey serve for a 5-4 lead.  Grinter consolidated this break by holding serve and claiming the first set.  The second set saw Grinter jump out to an early lead which McGlinchey was never able to pull back. Grinter claimed the second set and the New Plymouth Open title in the process, 6-2.

The ladies singles also saw a tight start that built into a comfortable second set victory.  Nikayla Barnard won out over Naomi Burwell 6-4 6-1.

The B grade men’s draw saw Hawera’s Grant Morris take on Meto Snegirev.  Morris outlasted Snegirev to claim the title 6-4 2-6 7-5. Snegirev did everything he could to claw back from a 5-0 deficit in the final set but could not quite complete a miraculous comeback. Snegirev could take some solace from the B grade doubles which he won with Ray Teunissen 6-7(6) 6-2 6-4.

The 10s boys was dominated by Wellington’s Aston Burwell-Garratt.  He took out the singles with a dominant 4-1 4-0 win over Taranaki’s Henry Moffat, thus adding a second Taranaki Tier 3 title after taking out the Taranaki Open in December.  Burwell-Garratt then combined with Tiago Shaw to win the doubles as well, defeating Moffat and his partner Charlie Broadmore.

In the 10s girls Emma Roberts was too strong for the rest of the field, beating Alicia Nobbs 4-1 4-1.

The 16s boys proved to be a two horse race. The final match of the round robin decided who would be champion.  Anthony Ye Cheng Cater edged out a valiant Jordan Whittleston to claim the title 7-6(3) 6-4. However, Whittleston teamed with fellow Taranaki local Sammy Lewis to claim the doubles 7-5 6-7(3) 6-1.

In the 18s boys Daniel Wilkinson overcame Matthew Evans 6-3 6-2.

At the time of writing the 12s and 14s boys and girls competitions still had not been completed.

All of the tournaments have been well managed, even when inclement weather brought its own set of challenges.  It seems likely, that as a result of the fun they had at this year’s event, players who came from away will return.