12 Dec 2019

This Sunday the 15th of December at 10 am, Taranaki take on Wanganui at the Hawera Lawn Tennis club as part of the Adidas Cup. The Adidas Cup is a trophy, which has been played for since the season of 1988-89.  Taranaki won it in its inaugural year and has claimed the cup a total of 8 times. Wanganui has won the cup twice.

Turning out for the Taranaki women this weekend will be Nikayla Barnard, Sophie Robertson, Ella Rogers, Alex Spurdle, Derryn Fleming and Tania Atkinson.  This is a youthful line up that could cause upsets against players with higher national singles rankings, especially when the tie will be taking place on grass; a great leveler against players who are more accustomed to hard courts.


The Taranaki men will be Caleb Fleming, Hamish Mead, Blair Crowley, Michael Erb, Brady Simpson and Jordan Whittleston.  This is a talented group of players who will certainly trouble the Wanganui contingent.


This is the first fixture of the summer for the Taranaki side, who will also play Manawatu, Hawkes Bay and Wairarapa as part of the Adidas Cup.