12 December 2009

Soffe cup teams had to test their depth this week with the unavailability of a number of players, mainly due to rep commitments and injuries.
In the first game of the second round on Saturday, competition leaders Sandfords Manaia suffered a 13-3 loss to previous 6th placed Icon Sports Tariki Pukekura at Pukekura.  It was Pukekura's first win of the season.  Fresh from his senior rep debut last week, fifteen year old Callum Old, at No 1, put on another superb display in defeating Jason Mills 6/7,6/1 7/6.  The rest of the singles went Pukekura's way apart from the No 4 women's match.  Veterans Denis Reid, Meto Segirev and Kerry Dwyer showed experience counts and beat Michael Gates, Tommy Death and Kody Murdoch in convincing fashion.  It was tough for Death and Murcoch who are junior reps and were promoted from the Wilson Cup team.  Pukekura's stalwarts, Kirsten Adam, Donna Thorne and Jeanette Harding beat youngsters, Ginny Death, Sarah Kelly and Maree Gopperth while Manaia's No 4 Grace Kelly beat Pam Wray 6/3,6/3.
Pukekura's Snegirev and Dwyer won their doubles against Death and Murdoch 6/1,6/1 while Adam and Thorne beat Death and Sarah Kelly 6/1,6/2.  Manaia claimed two doubles matches when Mills and Gates beat Old and Reid  7/6,6/2 and Gopperth and Grace Kelly beat Harding and Wray 7/5,6/3.  The home side then swept to victory winning all the mixed doubles.
The other matches resulted in draws, demonstrating just how close this competition is and the benefits of cutting it from 8 to 6 teams.
Central Finance Rotokare claimed the table lead by 2 points from Manaia by drawing with Waiwaka at Waiwaka.
Waiwaka started strongly leading 5-3 after the singles.  No 1 Mike Lace beat Blair Crowley 6/1,6/2 while No 2 David Lace beat Kyle Crowley 6/4,6/4.  Rotokare's No 3, Shane Devlin beat Michael Lloyd 6/2, 4/6, 7/6 and Malcolm Elder beat Simon Momich 6/2,7/5.  Apart from the top singles, Waiwaka' s women won all their matches.  No 2 Michelle Lace , No 3 Jayden Bruce and No 4 Melissa Wong beat Beccie Atkins, Frances Gray and Helena Goodin.  Rotokare's men won both their doubles matches with Blair Crowley and Devlin beating the Lace brothers in three sets and Kyle Crowley and Elder beat teenagers Lloyd and Momich.
The women's doubles were shared with Stevenson and Goodin scoring a crucial three set win over Oakes and Lace.  Bruce and Wong beat Atkins and Gray 6/2, 6/4.  Going into the mixed doubles it was 6-6 and the teams couldn't be separated with each tam winning two matches.  Although Waiwaka's are still chasing their first win, there is little between them and the top teams.
There was another draw in the Hareb Deken Oakura and AWE Huatoki match played at Huatoki.  While Oakura's men won all their singles, Huatoki 's women won all theirs, two of the matches going to three sets.  No 3 Alice Caskey continued her impressive season defeating the experienced Derryn Northcott 6/3,4/6,7/6 and No 4 Sue Dalzell beat Liz Rtchie 6/7,6/1,7/6.  Oakura's No 1 Graham Mitchell beat Amrit Rai 6/2,6/3 and No 2 Josh Walden accounted for Quin Rosa 6/1,7/5.  No 3 John Hardie Boys and No 4 Aaron Hine had little trouble against Jeremy Wichman and Alistair Nairn.
Huatoki gained an edge in the doubles, with the top men's match going their way. Rai and Nairn must have played very well to beat Mitchell and Hardie Boys 7/5,2/6,7/6. Saori Han and Janice Taylor beat Becky Bruckner and Northcott easily while Caskey and Dalzell beat Chris Davies and Ritchie in three sets.  Oakura evened the score winning three out of four mixed doubles.  They won all but the top match, Huatoki's Rai and Han beat Mitchell and Bruckner 9/8. Hardie Boys and Davies beat Rosa and Taylor 9/5, Walden and Ritchie beat Wichman and Caskey by default and Hine and Northcott only dropped one game against Dalzell and Nairn.
Central Finance Rotokare 67, Sandfords Manaia 66, Hareb Deken Oakura 63, AWE Huatoki 60, Stumble Inn Waiwaka 45, Icon Sports Tariki Pukekura 44
Additional points for having rep players were granted to Manaia (6 - C  & N Koch), Rotokare 3 - K Cranston), Huatoki
(6 - J Ussher, D Geange), Pukekura (3 - L Reid).
Wilson Trophy
Okaiawa 11 Matapu 5, Inglewood 14 waiwaka 2, Huatoki and Manaia Blue rained out, Rotokare 12 Manaia White 4
Sumpter Trophy
Okaiawa 10 Huatoki 6, Hawera and Rotokare rained out