01 Nov 2013

Taranaki Premier interclub tennis gets into full swing this Saturday.

Naki Racquets Pukekura Park will defend the Soffe Cup, having easily defeated AWE Huatoki in the 2012/13 final.

New blood will be the catch phrase this season with a number of teams bringing through the younger brigade and a number of new arrivals in town.  

Naki Racquets Pukekura has promoted its young guns up the ladder. With Callum Old leaving, the men's side will be led by Boys High No. 1, Jamie Simpson with stalwarts Mike Fleming and Chris Jury providing guidance for youngsters Matt Bayly and Brady Simpson. The women's team is headed by 13 year old Louise Waite, fresh from a tennis stint overseas, with the experienced Linda Reid, Kirsten Adam and Donna Thorne, forming the backbone, to oversee youngsters Chantelle Peters and Michaela Spurdle.

AWE Huatoki will be without Andrew Sangster, out injured, and Chris Popata, retired. Amrit Rai and Alastair Nairn return from university in coming weeks to bolster the ranks joining David Geange Murray Keast, Dave Innes, Chris Avery and Aaron Ritchie. NZ Rep Ajeet Rai is currently overseas but hopes to be back in the New Year.  Alice Caskey and Sophie Roberston will lead the women's side, with the experienced Chris Wilson at No.3. Ellen O'Byrne, Hikaru Han, Tracey Old and Lorraine Heerdegen round off the squad.  

Sandfords Manaia has lost Michael Gates (retired) but still has a formidable line-up headed by Taranaki Men's No 1 & 2, Jordan Fleming and Cameron Koch, with backup from Jacob Gopperth and youngsters Josh Murdoch, and Thomas Kalin. The women's line up is Taranaki No 1 Nicole Koch, who extends her record to 6 years unbeaten in interclub; Maree Gopperth, back from overseas; sisters Sarah and Grace Kelly, Trudy Vince, Alesha Ford and Bridgid Annabell. 

Hareb Deken Oakura has installed some serious firepower to this year's squad. Newcomer, former Manawatu No.1, and tennis coach Kurt McNamara will lead the men's side, with backup from the indomitable Graeme Mitchell. New recruit 2, Cameron Wenham, with veteran Len Adamson and spin king Craig Waite round out the men's line-up. Sue Oldfield and Jackie Keenan form a solid pairing at the top of the women's line up, with able support from ex Otago tennis rep Paula Ferguson, Chris Davies and Rebecca Scott.  

Farmlands Okaiawa have a few changes to last year's line-up, and will be hoping to make the semis for the first time. The well- performed Amelia Weir and Michelle Powell cover the top women's spots, with Emmah Ussher, Beth McLeod, Jaimee Baylis, and Shannon O'Brien making up the balance of the women's team.  The men's list is headed by Rep player Andrew Powell, with 14's National doubles champ, Hamish Mead back from Boarding School.  Big improver Mark Laurence, Vincent Baylis and Ryan Stockman round out the men's side.

Central Finance Rotokare will still be missing Tania L'Ami through injury with the men's line-up comprising Malcolm Elder, Greg Hareb, Kyle Crowley, Shane Devlin, Jaden Hareb,and Cole Hareb.  Representative player Karen Cranston will anchor the women’s side with assistance from Frances Gray, Julie Foley, Hannah Trevis and Helena Goodin. 

Team Lists for 2013/2014 Season

Naki Racquets Pukekura; Louise Waite Linda Reid, Kirsten Adams, Donna Thorne, Chantelle Peters Michaela Spurdle. Jamie Simpson, Michael Fleming, Chris Jury, Matt Bayly and Brady Simpson. Sandfords Manaia; Nicole Koch, Maree Gopperth, Trudy Robinson, Grace Kelly, Sarah Kelly Alesha Ford and Bridgid Annabell. Jordan Fleming, Cameron Koch, Beauden Fleming, Jacob Gopperth Josh Murdoch, Thomas Kalin.  Central Finance Rotokare; Karen Cranston, Frances Gray, Julie Foley, Hannah Trevis and Helena Goodin. Malcolm Elder, Kyle Crowley, Greg Hareb, Shane Devlin Jaden Hareb, Cole Hareb.  AWE Huatoki; Alice Caskey, Sophie Robertson, Chris Wilson, Ellen OByrne, Hikaru Han, Tracey Old, Lorraine Heerdegen. Amrit Rai, Ajeet Rai, Alistair Nairn, David Geange , Murray Keast, David Innes , Chris Avery ,Aaron Ritchie . Hareb Deken Motors Oakura; Sue Oldfield, Paula Ferguson , Jackie Keenan, Chris Davies, Rebecca Scott, Kurt Mcnamara  Graeme Mitchell, Cameron Wenham ,Craig Waite, Len Adamson,Charlie Lewis . Farmlands Okaiawa; Amelia Weir, Beth Macleod, Jaimee Baylis, Shannon OBrien, Michelle Powell, Emmah Ussher.  Andrew Powell, Hamish Mead, Mark Laurance, Vincent Baylis, Ryan Stockman.