26 November 2006

The Taranaki rep team successfully defended the Christie Cup at the Huatoki courts on Saturday (scoreboard below).
Although the score was 17-7, it was not a true indication of the tightness of the tie.  There were nine three set tiebreakers which all went Taranaki's way.
Taranaki got off to a great start winning the singles 9-3.  The top two men had losses, Jonathan Ussher had a tough match against the No 1 player in Central Districts, Luke Donovan and went down 6 -3, 6 -3.  Zac Wills played Shane Wilson who is the No 2 player in Central Districts and did not win a game.
Taranaki Captain and No 3, Michael Fleming had a close 7-6, 6-4 win over Jason Kitching and No 4 and 5, Chris Popata and Aaron Hine won their matches in three sets over Odam Tei and Robert Creiffer.  Debutant Mark Atkins won 6-2, 6-3 over Peter Durham.
Taranak's top two women Nicole Koch and Catherine Stevenson both won in three sets, after dropping the first set. Koch had a tough match against hard hitting 13 year old Kate Parker while Stevenson played Mihi Cotterill.  No 3 Leith Atkins had a relatively easy win 6-4, 6-1 while No 4 Saori Han had a tough day at the office, losing 6-3, 7-5 to the experienced Victoria Kerrison.  No 5 Alesha Ford won 7-6, 7-6 against Kay Gleary while No 6 Linda Reid beat Alison Shirnack in three sets.
Hawkes Bay hit back winning half the doubles matches. They took out the top men's match as well as the top and No 3 womens' matches.
Going into the combines, Taranaki were leading 12 -6 and only dropped the top match.
Selector Alistair Murdoch was rapt with the result and singled out Mark Atkins for a special mention. The 15 year old won all three matches on debut.
Other players to have a 100% record were Michael Fleming, Chris Popata, Aaron Hine, Leith Atkins and Alesha Ford.
Taranaki's next match is against Wanganui on December 10.
Tennis fans have a chance to watch more great action this weekend when the Rotokare club host the Central Districts Interprovincial. It is the first time the two day annual event has been held in Taranaki for several years.  Teams from Hawkes Bay, Wanganui and Manawatu will contest the title won last year by Hawkes Bay.
Nelson and Malborough are not entering teams.
Previously the teams were made up of two men and two women but this year the rules have been changed to allow three men and three women.
The Taranaki team is Jonathan Ussher, Zac Wills, Alesha Ford, Leith Atkins and one woman to be added.
Wilson Trophy
Manaia 9 Huatoki 7, Okaiawa 8 Inglewood 8, Oakura 15 Matapu 1
Sumpter Trophy
Manaia 8 Waiwaka 8, Hawera 12 Huatoki 4, Oakura 11 Matapu 5
Wilson Trophy
Oakura 54, Matapu 45, Manaia 45, Inglewood 27, Okaiawa 24, Huatoki 17
Sumpter Trophy
Team Hawera 70, Waitara 49, Oakura 46, Manaia 28, Waiwaka 28, Huatoki 26, Matapu 17

Taranaki v Hawkes Bay

Johnathon Ussher lost to Luke Donovan 6-3 6-3
Zachary Wills lost to Shane Wilson 6-0 6-0
Michael Fleming b Jason Kitching 7-6 6-4
Chris Popata b Odom Te 2-6 7-5 6-1
Aaron Hine b Robert Creffier 4-6 6-1 6-1
Mark Atkins b Peter Durham 6-2 6-3
Nicole Koch b Kate Parker 3-6 6-2 6-2
Catherine Stevenson b Mihi Cotterill 4-6 6-2 6-4
Leith Atkins b Fiona Gordon 6-4 6-1
Saori Han lost to Victoria Kerrison 6-3 7-5
Alesha Ford b Kay Gleny 7-6 7-6
Linda Reid b Alison Shirnack 6-4 2-6 6-3
Ussher/Wills lost to Donovan/Wilson 6-2 7-6
Fleming/Atkins b Te/Creffier 6-3 6-1
Popata/Hine b Kitching/Durham 4-6 6-0 7-5
Koch/Stevenson lost to Parker/Kerrison 7-5 6-2
Atkins/Ford b Cottrell/Gordon 6-4 6-7 6-3
Han/Reid lost to Gleny/Shirnack 6-3 6-3
Wills/Han lost to Donovan/Kerrison 6-4 6-1
Fleming/Koch b Wilson/Parker 2-6 7-6 6-3
Popata/Stevenson b Creffier/Gordon 6-0 6-2
Ussher/Atkins b Kitching/Cotterill 6-4 4-6 7-6
Hine/Ford b Te/Gleny 6-0 6-1
Atkins/Reid b Durham/Shirnack 6-2 7-6